Writing Awards For Children
and Young Adult Books

Literary Awards and Submission Sites Listing

Our list of writing awards for children and young adult books, includes both writing and illustrators awards. The listing is far from the end-all of writing award listings, but rather a beginning for those of you interested in submitting works. Good luck to all!

Children's Book Award Database

Alex Awards - USA
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

Andre Norton Award - USA
(SFWA) has created a new literary award to recognize outstanding science fiction and fantasy novels that are written for the young adult market.

The Aurealis Awards - AU
To recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. Divisions for Children and Young Adult books.

The Caldecott Medal - USA
The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The Carnegie Medal - UK
Awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children.

Children's Book of the Year Awards - AU
Annual children's writing awards for books with an implied readership under the age of eighteen, and are presented in five categories.

Christy Awards - USA
The Christy Awards celebrate novels from a Christian worldview.

Coretta Scott King Book Award - USA
Given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution as an inspiration to young people.

The Costa Children's Book Award - UK
The criteria is to select well-written, enjoyable books that would be strongly recommended for anyone to read.

The Crichton Award for New Illustrators - AU
The award aims to recognize and encourage new talent in the field of Australian children's book illustration.

Guardian Children’s Fiction Award - UK
Awarded by a panel of children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people.

Kate Greenaway Medal - UK
Presented annually for the most distinguished work in the illustration of children’s books.

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award - USA
The Wilder Award medal honors an author or illustrator whose books, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Margaret A. Edwards Award - USA
The Margaret A. Edwards Writing Award, honors an author's lifetime achievement for writing books for young adults that have been popular over a period of time.

The Michael L. Printz Award - USA
The Michael L. Printz Writing Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature - USA
Honors works that make a significant contribution to scholarship about the Inklings and genres of myth and fantasy studies.

The Nan Chauncy Award - AU
Created to honour people who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of Australian children's literature.

The National Book Awards - USA
Writing award for outstanding contribution to young people's literature.

New Zealand Post Book Awards for Children and Young Adults - NZ
Writing award that celebrates excellence in children’s literature and provides recognition for the best books for children and young adults published annually in New Zealand.

Newbery Medal - USA
The Newberry Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Parent's Choice Awards - USA
Children's writing awards in print and nonprint categories

The Pura Belpré Award - USA
The Belpre Award medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Society of School Librarians International. Book Awards - USA
(SSLI) gives annual writing awards in various categories to outstanding trade books for young people, published in the preceding year.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award - USA
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, (Dr. Suess Award) will be given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to beginning reader books.

Home Privacy Policy Terms Disclaimer Compensation Contact



Pages of Interest:
    Copyright Resources
    ISBN Faq
    Online Reference
    Query Letter
    Writers Aids
    Writers Edge
    Writers Mart
    Writers Stories

Genre Writing:
    Children's Writing
    Fantasy Writing
    Mystery Writing
    Poetry Writing
    Romance Writing
    Science Fiction Writing
    Young Writers

    Book Reviewers
    Childrens Awards
    Freelance Market
    Illustrator Agents
    Self Publishing Services
    Subsidy Publishers
    Writing Courses

Book Proposal Secrets - Write Book Proposals That Work