Literary Awards

Literary Awards and Submission Sites Listing

Browse current and past literary winners and their works at the sites below. You will also find submission requirements and instructions to submit your work for consideration.

The inclusion of a link to any site on this page does not imply an endorsement of that site by eBook Crossroads or any of its affiliates. eBook Crossroads assumes no responsibility for the content of sites included here or the actions of their owners.


Bakeless Literary Prize
Middlebury College are the sponsers for new authors of literary works in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction.

Bram Stoker Awards
For superior achievement in horror writing in twelve different categories, presented annually by The Horror Writers Association

CBC Literary Award
This competition celebrates original, unpublished works, in Canada’s two official languages, for poetry, short story and creative nonfiction.

Compton Crook Award
Best first novel of the year in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror, presented by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc.

Coretta Scott King Award
Given annually to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution.

Costa Book Awards
For residents of the United Kingdom and are presented in five categories; First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book.

The Daggar Awards
The Crime Writers' Association rewards writers in several different categories of crime novels.

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award
Presented to US authors of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and short stories intended for children in grades 4-8.

The Edgar's
Named after the Mystery Writers Association's patron saint, Edgar Allan Poe, and given to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre.

Ellery Queen Award
Established in 1983 to honor writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry.

The Endeavor Award
For a distinguished Science Fiction or Fantasy book written by a Pacific Northwest author or authors and published in the previous year.

Gaylactic Spectrum Awards
Created to honor works in science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues.

Governor General Literary Awards
Given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language book in each of the seven categories.

The Hugo
For Science Fiction writing achievement.

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Prize
For a novel of high literary merit written in the English language, or written in any other language and published in English translation.

International Reading Association Children’s Book Awards
Presented for an author’s first or second published book written for children or young adults. Given for fiction and nonfiction in each of three categories.

The Ippy
Given annually for many categories of books intended for the American market.

Jack Gaughan Award for Best Emerging Artist
Best Emerging Science Fiction Artist.

James Tiptree Jr. Award
An annual literary prize for science fiction or fantasy that expands or explores our understanding of gender.

The Man Booker Prize
For Fiction representing the very best in contemporary fiction.

National Book Awards
Full-length books and eBooks of fiction and general nonfiction; collections of short stories and essays by one author and collected and selected poems by one author are eligible. All books must be published in the United States.

Nebula Awards
Prizes for the best in Science Fiction and Fantasy presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association.

Parents Choice Awards
The best in Children's books awarded by the Parent's Choice Foundation.

PEN/Faulkner Awards
Annual national prize for the best work of fiction by an American author.

Prix Aurora Awards
Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Prizes.

The Prometheus
Best libertarian novel of the year by a Science Fiction writer whose book examines the meaning of freedom.

The Pulitzer Prizes
Admistered by the Columbia School of Journalism, 21 categories of the prestigious Pulitzer Prizes are presented annually.

The Rhysling Award
Science Fiction Poetry Prizes.

Sandeen and Sullivan Award
Fiction and Poetry Prizes.

Sidewise Award
Given for Alternate History in two categories.

The Spur
Established by the Western Writers of America, are given annually for distinguished writing about the American West,

The Vogel Prize
Australian Literary Prize for Fiction/Nonfiction.

Home Privacy Policy Terms Disclaimer Compensation Contact



Pages of Interest:
    Copyright Resources
    ISBN Faq
    Online Reference
    Query Letter
    Writers Aids
    Writers Edge
    Writers Mart
    Writers Stories

Genre Writing:
    Children's Writing
    Fantasy Writing
    Mystery Writing
    Poetry Writing
    Romance Writing
    Science Fiction Writing
    Young Writers

    Book Reviewers
    Childrens Awards
    Freelance Market
    Illustrator Agents
    Self Publishing Services
    Subsidy Publishers
    Writing Courses

Book Proposal Secrets - Write Book Proposals That Work